How much time do you spend on the Forex each day?

Hello, I am rather new to the Forex market seeing as I have only began demo trading last week. I would like to know what the average trader here spends a day watching those annoying charts. Currrently I have dedicated about 5-7 hours a day learning about forex, as well as place trades (more like guessing) on the demo. I would like to know how this stacks up agains the “normal”. :slight_smile:

15 - 30 minutes.

normally 30 min

Oops… I don’t do charts. :wink:

about 3 hours

I take about an hour or two. Most of that time goes to reviewing my trades or missed trades. The other portion goes to adjusting my tread lines and Fibs and setting alerts.

15 Hours - Covers European and USA (actually to follow DAX 30 from open to close) (and sometimes another hour or two for Tokyo if worried about positions and can’t sleep)! Most of the time spent researching, listening to news, etc. etc. Love this stuff!

I find it interesting that most people here dont send as much time on the forex as I though (under 4 hours). How do you guys make such informed decisions about making trades? From the technical side, what chart indicators do you use, as well as what time frames?

Currently I use the following at normal setting (because I have no idea what the perameters mean):

Bollinger
Parab SAR
MACD
RSI
Stochastic
Momentum

With the following time frames: 1m,5m,15m,1h,1d,1w

I use the 1h - 1w charts to (try) to find trend lines, and the 1m,-15m to place an order. Currently I have just tryed scalping for 5-10 pips but that didnt work out well. 11 loss trades and 6 win trades, so lost about 21% of my demo account in 3 days. (I let the bad ones ride longer then I should because I was hoping they would correct themselvs.)

What strategies do you guys recommend to for a day trade, i.e. one trade placed per day?

P.S. How are pivot, support and resistance calculated and used?

P.P.S Thanks for the replies. :smiley: