Grasping the basic principles of supply and demand

Hello Everybody,

I am completely new at forex trading and just started pre-school. I am struggling with tho following basic concepts.

I do not understand where the supply and demand actually meet eachother. In shares there are orderbooks with bid and ask prices in the market. As a forex trader you only have the actual bid and ask price at that moment in time from your broker without having information about the orderbook (if I understand correctly)

So how do brokers then make their money? In stocks there is commision but in forex there is the bid-ask spread. Does this mean the broker controls the forex prices in his (shop) and can ask and offer what ever he wants?

Could anybody share some light on this because I really want to understand how this works.

Thanks for your help

Michiel

Yes, that’s exactly what it means.

Forex is an OTC market with no central exchange. When you trade, you actually trade with your broker as the counterparty and the broker is free to offer you whatever bid/ask price they see fit.

Keep in mind that there are also pass-through brokers (ECNs) who do not set prices, just provide what’s available in a given network of liquidity providers. The charge commission.

Yes, but even with an ECN you get the quote the bank, in this case the brokers interbank partner, sees fit to offer you.

Until we run our own mega bank, we’ll have to accept trading on the offers that brokers or banks through ECNs will offer us.

So even an ECN is OTC, just one step further away from you, as I understand it.

As far as I know (but I’m no expert) the ECNs are passing through prices from multiple sources, not just a single bank. Otherwise, there’s no point for the ECN (remember the N stands for network). You’re just putting a useless added layer (and expense) on things.