"let this be a lesson to me" the tale of my first two live trades

Some background

Started as a complete beginner about six months ago. Have been demo trading for four of those months but without much luck to be honest and have been getting quite lax with it - it is only virtual money after all. I opened a live account a while back to build up funds but only have $500 in it just now.

The trades

So the thought came to me - “try trading live”. Well I lived with this thought for a couple of weeks and then was sitting in front of the screen, price going up, all indicators say up, demo trade is 35 pips up, so going to take profit here and open another position. The thought came again - “you could do this live” price is near the top of its range but there is still room to go up, maybe 30 or 40 pips to next resistance. I open my live account, set the rules to one lot ($10,000), 400:1 leverage, and sit there waiting - is the moment right ? will price really go up or will it retrace a bit, shouldn’t I wait ? Oh f**K it, I press the button. And … nothing. The dollar/yen does what it often does and goes sideways. A couple of hours later and still the same so I set a sensible SL and go to bed. Next morning, yes ! 22pips up and slowly creeping up. Set my SL to take 20 pips and off to work, come back and have got 20 pips out of a possible 33, not much - 16 bucks but good for me and I so wanted my first trade to be succesfull !