Leverage

Hello everyone Im new to Forex in terms of live trading and have a question regarding leverage and money management. I hear all the time that using a high amount of leverage is no good and will eat away at an account. But how is using less leverage different from using high leverage with common sense and discretion? What is the difference between trading 1 mini lot (10K), using 400:1 leverage with a $1000 dollar deposit…and trading the same contract size using 50:1 leverage. As far as I can see, I would have to use less margin to hold such a position which means it would take the market to move more pips against me before I got a margin call. As opposed to using LESS LEVERAGE where I have a greater margin to post upfront to hold open a trade of the same size and have less room for the market to move against me in terms of pips before I would get a margin call. Can someone please expand on that for me, it would be greatly appreciated.

Well pretty much the only thing leverage does it allow you to trade more lots with less cash so for instance 200:1 leverage lets you trade with $50 per 10K on a mini, 400:1 is $25 per 10K on a mini and so on. pretty much if you have 400:1 leverage and 50:1 leverage but trade the same amount of lots there is no difference. Having high leverage is not dangerous but the way you use it is. as long as you have proper money management you could have huge leverage and it wouldn’t affect your trading. Most people just risk more with the higher leverage, but if you don’t do that, then ur fine.

One other thing to take into account with whatever leverage setting you use, is the cost of carry. With most retail brokers, the higher the leverage, the more they charge on negative carry positions and the less they pay on positive carry positions…and vice versa.

This is only a concern if you hold positions for longer than a day…

shadow-

could you please elaborate on that? how is it that high lev isn’t dangerous?