Hold On!

Please correct me if im wrong…but I thought FOREX trading was risky only as far as the money you PUT INTO IT and THEN LOSE. Not any money beyond what you deposit. Im in the process of filling out an application to open a live account and they are asking for everything but my socks. Why do they need to know me total assets and net worth? Do people lose their homes trading forex? Especially trading with a mini account and with such small lot sizes equal to .10 cents per pip, Id like to know the reason they are asking for so much. Can anyone help me understand.

Hi My Friend, im new to forex as well and im from england, i think its just a usa thing, i tried to open an account with cms virtual trader platform that they wanted to know everything. If you were a criminal and wanted to launder some money the fx would be a good place to do it, plus your tax laws are so tight so they want to know the ins and out of everything. I have now opened an account in the uk with only 1 pip spreads, happy days and uk law states that its tax free as it comes under betting laws so its easy to open an account for uk residents, ive had a look for you but usa residents cant open an account with worldspreads in uk, so unless you want to move to uk i think brokers will all ask for a lot of infomation in the usa. Good pip hunting, sorry i couldnt help. Cheers Nigel

Thanks for the reply trooper the tax situation and trading is definitely not the greatest here in the states but our gov’t wants a piece of ANYTHING that makes money TRUST THAT. My MAIN concern however was the thought that it was possible to lose MORE than my initial investment into FOREX. The Broker’s questions about assets owned and net worth had me a little nervous and thinking that if maybe my account went negative 100 pips on me it would also make me lose more money than what i put into it