What kind of pc would i need to trade?

I’m completely new to trading and I was wondering what kind of system setup would i need? I’m looking at a high end dell, but do i really need all that power? any suggestions?

These aren’t the latest and greatest specs out there, but I know this will run any trade station out there and will have sufficient power to efficiently run your trading.

1 GHZ processor
512 MB of ram
AGP or PCI or PCI Express mulit moniter video card
Windows XP or higher.

What you really need for a mulit moniter set-up is a video card that supports it.

They are easy to find. Just search for Multi-Moniter Video Cards on
google.

Just make sure the Video card will work with your mother board. i.e.
If you have a AGP slot then get a AGP video card if PCI slot then PCI card and so on. It should say right on the computer specs when you shop for a computer.

I found this link on building a trading station at ET, you should check it out. It is almost like a lesson plan, not just an article. Best of all, it is easy to understand! http://www.elitetrader.com/tr/index.cfm?s=12

Nice link shiny, it really gives you all the info you need to build a trader friendly system. Take some time though, there is a lot to read here. I made it through the first 20 pages, then I had some serious eye strain.

I know, I started reading through it and halfway through I about fell asleep. I have a new pc though, and most of mine fits the specs, I just need to invest in a second monitor, and probably something for back up.

It’s handy, but a bit wordy. I think they could have condensed it to a manageable size. To be honest, I turned off after the first 5 pages. Next time I will just search the page for exactly what I am after.

Here is a place that sell multi screen set ups, it is 2-7 monitors set up in one unit. I am sure they are pretty pricey, but if you consider the cost of buying each separately I think it evens out.