Demo vs. Live

Newbie here, and I just wanted to thank everyone for the posts, school, blogs little the little tidbits. The information here has given me the start that I needed to get going in the Forex market. I have been demo trading for about 3 months and learning everyday by reading new and past posts.

My questions is why is it soo much different going from demo to live. People do great on the demo account then bomb when they get to the live account. Is this because of the entry points? Is there a delay in the live when compared to the demo. I thought that the demo was the same as live just using a demo account. Is there some way to make it more like the real deal, or just have to keep using the demo until you feel comfortable then enter live and pretty much start all over again.

This is why I am a little hesitant on entering into live trading. :frowning:

Could this be the mindset of using you own money compared to money giving to you to use in a demo account? Do people really change their perspective on trading going from demo to live?

If anyone can give me a little insight it would be much appreciated, as I am slowly working my way to trading live.

Thanks for your time and keep pipping to happiness:) .

Hi Gotpip. Its a great step moving from demo to live trading. There is quite a bunch of threads at newbie and forextown covering the ‘difficulties’ of making the transition.
To cut to the chase the live and demo systems are all the same as far as my broker is concerned. How do I know this? I’ve traded the two simultaneously and the entry, exit and spreads were similar the many times I’ve made the trades. This might not hold true for all brokers, especially the ones that use dealing desks to fill you in. Here the demo account might be fully automated but the live one is handled manually and thus there would be a disparity in results.