How long does it take before i see some green?

Hi. Im trading demo and i got a simple question for you guys… roughly how long do i need to take on a position before i see some green? I dont wanna trade the 1min charts and make some money quick (or lose as it mostly the case) instead i think im a longer term trader and i wanted to know how long will it take before i start seeing some profit? days? weeks?

Thanks!
:47:

at a mimimum, months or years, and for the majority of people, Never.

It depends on your strategy. Go through the school. Long term trading is more reliable as far as indi’s and price actions is concerned. 5min and 15min trading requires balls and an eye for reversals. Its really up to YOU!

Trading full time job? - Short and Long term.

Supplement income? - Id recommend long term but I play short term because its easier to trade the prime hours.

Its all based on the individual - honestly there is never a guarantee you will make money.

In all reality you could (just like vegas) throw 2k into a trade and come out with 1000 more the next day. In that case it could potentially be luck but there are traders cough SAM SEIDEN cough who eat pips for breakfast and drink champagne the rest of the day.

Just work at it. Demo Demo Demo. If it doesnt work for you it was not meant to be.

Yes, it’s how long is a very very long piece of string!

If you have a methodology that suits your personality, and it also provides an edge, and you have a business plan including a set of rules on how to best follow your methodology, I would say 3 months to 1 year to become profitable.

If you don’t have a methodolgy with an edge, or a methodolgy that suits your personality, then you will fail to become profitable until you have this. No one can tell you what this is… it is an individual thing. The hardest part is, the vast majority of ways of analyzing the market do not provide a sustainable edge. A few that work are:

Volume Spread Analysis
Trend Following