Charts and entry points

I am new to FX and have a question about entry points. I know that it is best to trade with the trend.

What I have noticed in my demo trading is that when I am looking to trade with the trend, say I’m looking to sell with a long downward trend, and the indicator says enter, say for example it is the stochastic moving from above 80 to below 80 on the 4 hour chart. It would seem to say now is the time to place a sell order. I then go to the 1 hour charts and the stochastic is not indicating to enter a sell order at all, I go further down to the 15 min charts and it may event indicate buy. So the question is how do I read that, which chart is really the one I want to follow?

Thanks

It’s best not to trade over multiple time frames. Use one and stick to it. Swigging back and forth causes lots of problems.

This is not true IMHO. Using higher time frames to confirm a trade is used by many trader.

I don’t have any advise about stochastics though.

Stochastic oscillators don’t really measure trends as such, but rather show momentum in a particular direction compared with previous price action. For example, when the price volitility in a candle increases (big moves on one candle) compared to the previous X number of candles, then the oscialltor moves closer to one extreme value or the other. When the candles become smaller (slowing momentum) the osciallor slows down and eventually turns around. If you are using the Stochastic to identify trends on 4H charts then forget it, use your eyes or find something else.