Stop losses - getting stopped out after trade goes into profit

Doh I replying but it doesnā€™t seem to show up. Germans always deny rumors but itā€™s dow jones reporting it, thatā€™s good enough for traders. Theyā€™re still denying EFSF buying itā€™s own bonds to cover short-fall.

Hmm if it was short-covering would it drop down back and even below, to 1.3500? Donā€™t think so and on a friday.

As for me shorting, when I first read his post I thought he was talking about thursday, I was making a point that if he thinks price should go down and it moves opposite then hoping it goes back down again is careless, I was talking in general.

Why the spike exhaustion at 1.3600? Got contained there and exhausted :stuck_out_tongue: , once it got comfortably contained down it went.

Hi Halba

I am a newbie like yourself ( been trading live now for 6 months ) so Iā€™m by no means the most experienced person to offer any advice. But this is my 2 cents worth anyway.

If , as a newbie, I had placed a trade and it went 25-30 pips up almost straight away, as you said, I would either have just taken the profit and closed the trade, regardless of what my target was. Or I would at least have moved my stop to Break Even at that time.

Regardless of your target, 25-30 pips is a good result for a trade. If your target was +200 pips, and your trade was showing +100 pips, would you leave it to see if it gets to the +200 without managing it in some way ? I wouldnā€™t.

We hear so much advice about doing this and doing that, but at the end of the day this is YOUR account and it is YOU that has to keep it alive. I would be delighted with a 25-30 pip profit, especially if it had moved that way so soon after I placed the trade.

Keep yourself, or I should say your account, alive by managing it. Next time a trade is that much in profit, you could do much worse than just put the money in the bank.

My 2 cents. :slight_smile:

HoG