[Question] Bollinger band & Trends

Hello all!

I’m a newbie that recently started trading. Through the usage of Bollinger Band & Moving Average, I made a decent amount and pips through a demo trading account. Below is a screenshot of my trading history for the day.

However, if you realised, I made a huge loss at around 11:50 to 12:00, through the usage of Bollinger Band, i assumed that the price of EUR/USD would drop back down, therefore issue a sell order of 1,000,000 lots, however, it raised even further, forcing me to hit the stop loss. In the result, I lost almost all my profit for the day.

After reviewing and looking through multiple sites for news, I chanced upon the news of officers shot down in TheEconomist, and the news was released at around the same timing as price of EUR/USD went up.

Could it be due to the news, the price of USD went down, causing the EUR/USD to fluctuate up?

I feel that using Bollinger band & Moving Average, I am “Gambling” even though I am using technical analysis. Would really love it if someone could advice on this matter.

Would appreciate some advice or input for my learning journey in Forex.

Thank you for taking up your time to read this post!

Cheers,
Zed

That’s a [U]position-sizing[/U] problem, I think.

Probably you shouldn’t ever be in a position where one adverse trade can wipe out the whole day’s profit.

What proportion of your total account are you exposing to risk, with a trade that size, if there’s a sudden reversal that hits your stop-loss?

I don’t know, and I think it doesn’t matter much to the cause of the problem you’ve encountered. [B][U]All[/U][/B] price movements are caused by an imbalance between buying pressure and selling pressure, regardless of whether or not there’s an obvious, news-related cause for that imbalance.

Well, it depends what you mean by “gambling”.

The outcome of a specific, individual trade is never going to be predictable.