Demo vs Real Account?

Hello to everyone!
My name is Hilal. I started trading three weeks ago. The first demo account I created I blew up mainly because I was too greedy. With the second demo account I tried to be more cautious and so far it has worked out well. Since I wanted my demo account experience to be as real as possible I chose my initial capital to be as little as 100 Euro. For those two weeks I have managed to make to 196.25Euro. I’m wondering if these are realistic numbers? I mean is something different in the real account which might stop me from having the same success?

Thank you!

Hi - and welcome to the forum. :cool:

Yes - many things. Both practical/mechanical and psychological.

The most important key concept is probably the statistical one that your sample-size needs to be statistically significant before it can suggest the probability of being duplicated in a live account. (But there are many other “key concepts”, too!).

I’d strongly suggest that you don’t even think about using a real, funded account until you’ve collated the results of a minimum of 300 consecutive trades on demo without making an overall loss, [B][U]and[/U][/B] traded on demo for a minimum of 6 months as well, whichever is the [I][U]longer[/U][/I].

Hi Hilal, I found that [U]psychology[/U] was the biggest difference going from Demo to Live… the stress invoked by real money… start with micro lot positions… unsuccessful micro trades generate micro losses… the experience is major.

I agree with Lexys… trade the Demo until you are comfortable of what you are doing… Even though I had substantial capital available to trade with, I started with a small account ($500) so if “I blew it up” it wasn’t a crippling loss.

Now most of my Demo strategies revolve around 0.01 lots per pip on a $200 account.