Please help me set my goals and review my plan?

At the moment I have been playing around with trading212 and just getting a feel practicing.
I have primarily been trading oil and some FX.
I really want to try make $2k a month. What capital would be required and also how much time would it take as I am a student. At the moment I have got about $500.00 to invest. It is not much but I also do not mind starting off smaller.

Thank you and all advice is appreciated :slight_smile:

It’s not easy to predict an answer to that, but I’ll offer a “guideline” …

Eventually, after many years’ education and work, and a few thousand hours of screen-time experience, a [I][U]small minority[/U][/I] of traders eventually manage to achieve a steadyish 5% return per month, and they’d therefore need an account of about $40,000 to achieve that.

I was, too, when I started. I had plenty of well targeted, well-focused education and 4 years’ practice on demo accounts (most people do considerably less than this), then started live trading with a funded account with which I became profitable within only 2-3 months (most people take considerably longer, but I’d already had that 4 years’ practice), but it was still another 3 years after that before I was steadily enough profitable to make a living from it.

According to Dr. John Borman, who has studied such subjects as trader education and performance extensively, 3 years is, on average, the time-scale at which it all starts to make sense for those who go on to become successful … so that’s about the same, on average, as a degree-course? You can see what he said about this (as recently as yesterday!), in this thread.

This is also a good thread: [B]301 Moved Permanently