How do you draw your S/R zones?

Hey,

ever since I started trading I tried to build everything around S/R zones. And ever since I am looking for a method to draw them somewhat objectively. I struggled when common forex knowledge told me to draw them “where price turned”. That is so immensely subjective that it led me nowhere because I could draw lines wherever I wanted because you can always find an instant when price turned right there. I then tried to use swing points (aka a high surrounded by two lower highs on either side, a low surrounded by two higher lows on either side) but these do not seem to be respected very well.

So I wonder: how do you go ahead? Gut feeling or do you have some rules?

Regards,
Codaky

Really no rules. That’s the issues with S/R lines - they are purely subjective and drawn at any place they will always have reasonable explanation. The second point is that if you find this “golden rule” sharing it with public will imminently break your edge because other traders will place their bets considering your advantage.
Constant winning rate with considerable gains may be ensured only with information asymmetry or speed advantage, any other tricks with excellent MM will hold you at breakeven or maybe small gains.

To develop in this way you may use volume data available in futures trading to understand what is the current positioning although many of the big trades made by big banks are invisible in this information, so still you have not complete picture and relying on it won’t provide accurate signals

Frankly speaking, I am sure about it which is why I am using indicator for this. I think there are various types of indicators available developed in different way but all very useful and effective, so we should always use that to help our self. But, I definitely believe it is awesome if we can work out these things as it’s fairly enjoyable, but still it is not something you would put into necessary thing.