How Many Units Can I Buy?

Hello everyone, I’ve been trading for about 2 years now, so I’m not completely new to the game. However, I still have a lot to learn. I have a question about figuring out how many units one is able to buy (or sell) of a particular currency pair. Is there a formula for this? Also, I have recently started trading ZAR/JPY because I have been able to pull in a bit more profit from that because, for some reason, I am able to trade many more units of this pair than any other. Why can I trade 100,000 units of ZAR/JPY at a price of about 7.996, but only trade about 10,000 units of another pair with the price that is a fraction of that (for instance, AUD/CHF)?

Thank you for your help!

I’ll have to guess at some of the information you haven’t provided, specifically your account currency.

So, just to continue the conversation, and formulate an answer to your question, I’ll assume that your account currency is USD, and you are trading a US-regulated retail account (meaning 50:1 leverage limit and 2% required margin).

When you trade 100,000 units of ZAR/JPY (or any pair in which ZAR is the base currency), your position has a notional value of 100,000 ZAR.

To convert this to USD (your assumed account currency), we divide 100,000 ZAR by the current price of USD/ZAR, as follows:

Notional value in USD = 100,000 ZAR ÷ USD/ZAR

The current price of USD/ZAR is 13.7900, which means that 1 USD = 13.79 ZAR

Therefore, notional value in USD = 100,000 ZAR ÷ 13.79 = $7,251.63

In order to trade a $7,251 position size, your account must provide 2% required margin = $145.02

If you do a similar calculation for the AUD/CHF trade which you mentioned, you will determine that a 100,000 AUD position has a notional value in USD of $75,000 (at the current AUD/USD price of 0.7500).