Win Small but Often vs Win Big but Seldom

Hi a newbie here. I want to ask opinion regarding trading strategy. Statistically speaking, which is better in the long run? Winning small yet often or winning big but seldom? I usually in between day-trading and swing-trading.

I have been using the former strategy for some time. What I do usually is opening lot of trade, try to winning the trade not too much, say around 5-20 pips. Since it is easier to close such trade, the probability to win is relatively high. But in order to avoid fakeout I usually put a relative large stop loss, for example 20-40 pips. So sometime a failure will wipeout my previous several winnings. Overall these strategy seems to work but I don’t know if this is effective in the long run.

Then there are latter strategy which take the opposite approach. Instead placing wide stoploss, I will put a small gap, for example 20-40pips. And I will aim to win around 100pips. Statistically speaking, the probability to win a trade will be quite low (considering my current technical & fundamental analysis skill).

Do you think the latter strategy will be better?

Hello there and welcome, I have replied to a lot of questions like this from beginners and the question is almost worded the same. As an inexperienced trader, you must find what works best for you, try not to dig your heels in so quickly with a specific strategy or system. Until you call yourself a profitable trader, test all the markets, all the systems you want and then commit to the most effective system for yourself.

Everyone trades differently, people’s opinions are meaningless unless there is data to back it up. If you want to hold positions over a few days do it, if you want to scalp (be very careful) do it. Nobody can/should tell you how best to use your capital.

1 Like

It all depends on the strategy and your attitude towards it. Any profit is just a profit. This is the main thing.