What exactly do the full bodies of a candle mean vs the long end hanging out?

So far i don;t think anyone has explained what exactly the body of the candle means.

Can someone explain to me what is happening in the market when they see a candle’s full body vs the long thing coming from the top or the bottom what has happened in the market?

I’m a newbie but my understanding is that body of the candle signifies the open & the close for what ever time period you’re looking at. If the close is higher than the open then it’s a bullish candle & if the close is lower than the open then it’s bearish. The lines coming out the top & bottom are the highs & lows during the time period.

I’m sure that this is in the school & if someone could confirm my understanding, it would be greatly appreciated.

Hello Baz & Snake,

Yes, the body of the candle represents the open and close for that time period. So if its a bull candle, the close will be above the open, and vice versa for a bear candle.

The line above/below the open/close (if any) represents the highs and lows for that candle on that time frame. So if there is a wick above the close, then price had for that candle moved higher in price towards the top of the wick, but retreated back into the close. Vice versa for the wick on the bottom which represents the lows for the candle.

Hopefully that clarifies it.

When you feel comfortable reading the basics of candles, feel free to check out my Forex Price Action thread where I talk about how to read and understand these candles from a price action perspective. Price action is simply price’s movement over time, but when you learn how to read it, communicates the order flow behind the price action.

When you can learn to read and trade the order flow behind it, then you will find yourself trading with the institutional market which are the players that move it.

So feel free to visit the thread and learn more about it, and ask any questions you may have there.

Kind Regards,