What is the best/correct way to draw (symmetrical) triangles?

In the USD/JPY chart, a nice symmetrical triangle has been forming since may. I’m looking at it on the daily chart, but the trend lines seem to have held on every timeframe. Anyway, I was wandering whether the breakout has occurred yet or not?

Initially, I drew my trend lines like this:

Here, a breakout has still not occurred.

Then I began to realise there were other ways of drawing this triangle, such as this:

Here, a breakout has occurred.

Which would be the correct way to have drawn this triangle? Also, have you guys had much success using triangles?

I’ve used triangles before, but I’m a total noob with them so this is just my opinion. Drawing anything on a chart is a bit subjective to me, whether it’s trendlines, triangles, Fibonacci retracements or whatever. Mostly because they can change as the market changes, which you show here with two perfectly drawn triangles I think. So to me, chartwork like this is great to create a framework for developing a trade plan, but you really have to focus on the risk management and trade adjustments afterwards.

Two touch points either on the lows/highs and ray the lines into the future. The first one looks good.

Redrew it on TS for better clarity…

Hope this helps

Yeah I had that second triangle you drew and thought price made a breakout too. It can vary from time to time, I suppose. New triangles can form off old broken ones, maybe? More conservative trend lines/triangles connect the highs only though, so I guess that’s a more reliable basis for breakouts.

Connect as many points as possible. For example, when you draw an upwards trendline, you connect the most possible higher lows available. To bring it a level higher, draw your support and resistant. When both trendline and support/resistant meets, it indicates a strong reversal at that particular price.