How Significant are gaps bewteen candles?

I’ve been following the price of USD/JPY, I noticed that on the 10th it was bouncing off the 200 day
moving average, and the fundamentals looked good for me to be bullish on the USD/JPY (I’m no expert here)
blogs I have been reading are saying the pair may continue to go up ??

If i look on the daily chart, it looks like the pair is still bullish, or perhaps the uptrend is slowing
however If I switch to the 4 hour, or 1 hour view, There is a big 200-300 pip downward gap and it looks like the pair has just dropped all of a sudden between the candle for friday, and the candle for midnight on Sunday EST.

could someone explain this to me… I’m only a beginner!
Cheers

Gaps are created for a variety of reasons, most likely there was some sort of news released over the weekend that created a buzz. This causes the bid/ask spread to widen to a point that you see a significant gap. There are four different categories of gaps; breakaway, exhaustion, common, and continuation.

Breakaway gaps occur at the end of a price pattern and signal the beginning of a new trend.
Exhaustion gaps occur near the end of a price pattern and signal a final attempt to hit new highs or lows.
Common gaps are those that cannot be placed in a price pattern - they simply represent an area where the price has ‘gapped’.
Continuation gaps occur in the middle of a price pattern and signal a rush of buyers or sellers who share a common belief in the underlying currency’s future direction.

If the gap has been ‘filled’, that means the price moved back to the original pre-gap level. This is a common occurrence and can happen because of:

Irrational Exuberance: The initial spike may have been overly optimistic or pessimistic, therefore inviting a correction.
Technical Resistance: When a price moves up or down sharply, it doesn’t leave behind any support or resistance.