Confused about S/R

I’m trying to learn how to properly draw S/R on my charts, and I have a good feel for it now BUT, when looking at the page from BabyPips (http://s3.amazonaws.com/babypips-media-production/images/2016/05/grade1-support-resistance-examples2.png)

I’m totally confused on the 1st and 3rd “Minor S/R” … if I were to connect the 2, cutting through the previous swing, I’ve got another 4 touch points - why is this a minor, vs a major re-test line … or is it always considered minor when the price has cut through recently?

Seems very subjective for those S/R to predict future action, but hey, I’m new to PA generally speaking …

Indeed. Don’t expect anything approaching objectivity on the subject of S/R, and which previous/recent ones are suggestive of future S/R. And if you find anything approaching objectivity on this subject, treat it with caution.

But in general, I think it’s fair to say that “more frequently touched” and “more recent” are both potentially suggestive of future recurrence.

I think probably the general consensus of opinion among price action traders is that as a potential “forecaster”, it’s been detracted from, to some extent, by the price having cut through it recently.

Edited to add: the interpretations of many of these things depend on “knowing your instrument”. Some things “respect” previous/recent S/R more than others. [There are people who deny that, as well, but they’re wrong. :wink: ]

My challenge here is that there are many times I’ve drawn these lines, only to have them ignored - and if I draw them all, I may as well just put a sheet of lined paper on my screen - it’s not helpful.

One tip I’d read is that often times, the distance between S/R lines is around 100-200 pips on the daily charts, any tips on distance for the 1Hr? I’m working around 40-80pips - seemed reasonable