Beginner's question about MACD

Hi guys,

I am a junior trader who is learning charting techniques at the moment. In MACD, can someone explain briefly on what the implications are when MACD and SIGNAL lines are overlapping for a period of time. Please see example:

In the example they are horizontally aligned, what if they overlapping in upward or downward trend? My understanding is that the market is consolidating, so there is no indications whether it’s upward or downward trend. Is that correct? Can someone shed some lights on please?

Thanks,
Ken

Macd… It’s one of a lagging signal too. Yes u r right. Price is consolidating when they horizontal aligned. There is no indication… if both line is below zero… Means it still on a downtrend. If both line is above zero means the price is still on the uptrend. Bug if u use the line cross over to place your trade u in danger… Cos Macd line only appear after the price action is over. Means when u see it cross n u start place your trade. U already behind the price action. The price may jump until nowhere. When u start your place your trade the action may be finish n start to turn against u

Example see the image. It cross over. N u will feel it a good chance to sell. But when u trade sell. Price go against instead u n it went up

Another example y it lag. See the circle I hv draw. Real price action start at circle No1. Circle no2 Macd start to cross n u place your trade. Circle no 3… How many pips u want to earn? Circle no 4… B4 u take profit price turn against u…

It gd to learn how the indicator are use for. But don’t rely on it too much. I have try alot lot of indicator… In the end I don’t use indicator anymore. I only use overlay, examples Like Ichimoku cloud, Sar, bb… Best is learn price action of the candle. Cos each candle hv it own price action.

May God be with us

Thanks very much Alan for the explanation, much appreciated.