Which time frame to use?

Hi friends,
I am a newbie and still learning.

I have some confusing with using time frame (I am not sure they are called time frames) on mt4 charts (M1, M5, M15, M30, H1, H4 etc). In the babypips school, in technical analysis, they use H1, H4 or sometimes D1 for analyses. I am not using those techniques for now because I am studying them still.

For now I am trading only using economic calender and free daily signals with M5 time frame for trading.
I need to know about difference among those time frames, when to use which time frame etc…

Thank you

1 Like

From my understanding the general way to use it is:
Large time frame is simply for trend (1D)
The middle time frame is where you decide on trading, place fibs, price levels etc (4H)
The small time frame you are looking for the entry point (based on the 4H) or the exit point (based on the 4H) so you would use a sch or a candle or something to tell you that it is the bottom and this is the price to buy/sell.

2 Likes

I could use some clarification on this topic as well. Right now I am using 1D for swing trade trying to catch trends or reversals. I use EMA’s, support and resistance and the ATR. I am still learning how much of an impact Economic News has my technical strategy though.

1 Like

Thanks Drexta & monser33…
I think there is a long way ahead…