Historical impact to USD during times of conflict

hi guys,

i’m rather new to forex trading and haven’t witnessed what happens during times of conflict. Given the steep drop in USD on the announcement of Syria bombing last week (albeit short lived) i’m curious to hear what typically happens during times of conflict/aggression. For example if the Syria or North Korea scenario evolve into something much larger could we be expecting big time USD depreciation.

I guess i could pull up charts for times in the past, but at work right now and don’t have access.

cheers

Can I ask, are you a long term trader or a short term trader.

This may seem like a silly question at first, however if you are a ‘day trader’, or rather a trader who holds positions for less than perhaps 48 hours then the above question wont really effect you, or rather your trading approach to be more specific.

Even in the most bullish markets there are pullbacks, and in the most bearish markets there are pullbacks. In hindsight, and depending on your own trading style, either the main trend or the pull backs could be traded. You mentioned that you are interested in USD; [as proof of my above comment you can look at the six months from the starting date of 01/08/2008 - the latest financial crash. Considered as the most severe bearish market conditions in the last 10 years. However, as obvious as the bearish conditions are, there were still opportunities to buy USD pairs on pullbacks when trading short term]

The point that I’m trying to get towards [all be it a very simplified description] is that long term economic views, such as a war or political disagreement still allow you to either trade with the trend or against it when trading on shorter time frames.