I can't get my head around leverage!

Hi all, hoping for help and advice,

I’m a newbie with enthusiasm and developing knowledge.

I’ve been trading on a demo account for a couple of weeks now and am improving all the time with identifying trends, learning from my mistakes, noting when and why I made profits etc…

One thing I can’t get my head around is this:

I’m using FXCM platform and so can only trade $100k lots and making say $2000 per week. Now when I go live, I haven’t got $100k, so I’ll open a micro?? account with $1,000 - does this mean that because the lot sizes are one hundreth of the demo account, the profits will be one hundreth as well??

I thought this is what leverage was all about, you deposit $1,000 but are playing with $100,000 (100:1 leverage).

Also, for similar investments - how much profit would you think was reasonable to take in a day / week/ month etc…

Any advice will be greatly appreciated!!!

Thanks

Have you read the babypips school?

Try this page,

Leverage the Killer | College: The Number One Cause of Death for Forex Traders | Learn Forex Trading

I think the current financial crisis in the US is lesson of how dangerous leverage is as even the smartest guys on the planet and large institutions got killed by one bad, over-levered trade.

Wall Street firms hire guys with PhDs (math, economics, finance, etc.) from the best schools, to create risk models and systems that told them they couldn’t lose money. So, they levered up positions in the subprime mortgage (up to 30 times) and made good money. Of course, as we know the subprime mortgage fell apart and whole institutions went out of business or had to be taken over.

So, if the smartest guys on the planet, with unlimited resources and information available, got killed overleveraging, why should we try it?