Leverage with FX Brokers

Hi All,

I am trying to find an FX Broker that allows traders to set their own leverage. Most FX Brokers tend to have a pre-set leverage level of say 100:1 being 1% margin with some offering up to 400:1.

I am new to FX trading and I want to find a broker that will allow me set my leverage at 20:1.

Does any one know of any FX Brokers that allow the facility to set your own leverage or offer leverages of 20:1?

Any ideas or pointers would be most appreciated

Regards

SRA

i’m in the process of demoing brokers, and oanda was the only one where i could find a way to change the leverage (not saying others don’t have it, but they don’t make it easily available). anyways, oanda allows 10:1, 20:1, 30:1, 40:1 and 50:1.

You should put your leverage to the max, but remember the REAL leverage is not the same. You manage your real leverage with your actual position size!

Example, if you are trading with Oanda (adjustable lots[units]), and have 50:1 leverage, with 1000 dollars, you “could” use 1000x50 = 50.000 units. You should never use that much! Actually, it would be wise to only use roughly 2% or 1:1 true leverage per trade, which would be 1000 units with 1000 dollar account :slight_smile:

I usually trade longer time frames and use true leverage per trade of 1:1 - 1:3. This way i dont need to have too tight stops. Over leveraging is the most common doom of traders.

Thanks Johto much appreciated, tell me what has been your experience with Oanda, I haven’t dealt with them yet but I will review their site

SRA

Thank you very much Hyperbling, your feedback is appreciated. I will review Oanda, tell me how would you rate them as a broker? i.e. ease of use, access, support etc.

Thanks again

SRA