Starting a brokerage

Hey guys

I have been trading for the last 8 years, many times I have seen bid/ask fluctuations beyond reasonable rates. Most of the big brokers are MM and they are out to take your money. For 8 months I have been working on starting my own brokerage.

Just wanted to put out a question to traders, would you sign up to a True STP that marks up to 3 pips in spread and charges no commission?

My opinion on spreads is vastly different from most. If a eur/usd or use/jpy is 2 pip or 5 pip if doesn’t really matter to me as I trade on daily and monthly and look at 4 hr for ins and outs. Look at 40-60 pip gains. What is of impotence is huge spreads on news announcements. That is where you can really spot a bucket shop quick. I was starting my own brokerage and have tons of insight that might help. Be prepared to have deep pockets. I would love to help in anyway with what my work has uncovered.

Have a look at the spreads of the brokerages that you might be competing with, that do not charge commissions. Oanda is one of them. Do you think anyone in this day and age would accept a 3 pip markup? As for brokerages being MM that’s out to get our money, well, that is just something that retail forex traders have to put up with. With so much competition in the retail forex trading business, brokerages would not dare to be too daring in pulling tricks to the detriment of their clients. Even though I no longer trade with them, I had mentioned to Oanda a few months ago that I noticed their spreads for the majors were much higher than a few yrs ago when I first started with them, and I’m sure I’m not the only one mentioning it to them. I noticed recently that their spreads for eurusd has dropped to ard 1.2 - 1.4. Thus a 3 pip markup is way too high.