FXpro vs ICmarkets

hi, im trying to chose a broker and i have it little hard.

icmarkets has good tight spreads and stuffs and low commission.
fxpro has also tight spread only little more than icmarkets(we talking about pippettes).

now the difference is that icmarkets doesnt have negative balance protection while fxpro has.

what do you think of this?

which one would you choose, for daytrade/scalp

appreciate any help

I have no personal experience of either of these brokers but in general here are some thoughts:

If you are truly scalping or daytrading with very short open trade durations then the negative balance protection is not so relevant because your targets and stops will, by definition, be very close to the current price and you are not exposed in the market for any great periods of time. Therefore, it is less likely that you would get caught in a situation where there is a sudden jump in price and all bids/offers have disappeared completely such that even your broker cannot automatically close you out when your margin is exhausted. Of course, this risk is always present to some degree for any trader…

However, negative risk protection is always worth taking if there are no disadvantages attached, but, as in this case, the spreads are often wider and there is always the likelihood that spreads will widen even further whenever the market volatility picks up or fast price movements are anticipated.

There is never “something for nothing” and one needs to balance the pros and cons of each alternative and determine which scenario suits one’s purposes best. In this case, maybe, depending on your trading volume, position size and style, tighter spreads may be more important than negative equity protection.