How do you choose your profit target?

Dear all,

I’m in the process of creating my own trading system and now I’m trying to define what kind of profit target I should use. Sometimes the trading patterns helps me to difine this, but in case there is no pattern…

Do any of you have an idea how I should do this? Share your ideas and practice with me.

Many thanks for all,

Eh Hope all is good! Usually what I do is let it ride for all can get, of course I am a position trader. I do, however have a clear idea of what my profit target is based on how much I risk. So, depending on your system’s winning percentage, and how much you risk you want the profit you take to be greater than both these. For instance say your system wins 50% of the time and you set a fixed stop for 30 pips, you want your profit to be over 30 pips (ususlly they say 45 pips in this situation). The more pips your profit is, the less the winning percentage. That is if you have small stops, but the larger the stops, the more you tend to lose your capital, unless of course you have a large stake. And conversely the smaller the profit the greater the winning percentage, however as long as the percentage and the size of the win together is greater than the loss, your in the clear. People usually use this formula:
Loss = (losing %) x size of the loss < (winning %) x the size of the win

If this holds then you should be good. What I do, and this is just me, is I define my risk as larger than it really is, that way I make sure I am in the clear even when I get in a losing period. This also helps me stay disciplined.

Hope this helps you out, just one opinion!
Stay Cool, Take it easy!