DCM Forex and Eligible Contract Participants? What is this?

Hi All,

This is my first post here at the forums and I’m glad to be here, how are you?

I’m a USA resident and I was interested in opening a Forex trading account with DCM Forex in Australia and I was told that I would have to meet the “Eligible Contract Participant” requirements. Looking over the PDF file they sent me it appears that it requires a company/group/individual to have a net worth of $1 million to $10 million, depending on the circumstances.

Investigating these requirements further they appear to be part of the Dodd-Frank legislation.

Is this for real or is DCM Forex just closing the door on small retail investors?

Thanks!

since you live in USA, I suggest you using USA Brokers, investing in another countries have a high risk opportunity to get scammed if they’re not regulated with NFA, and I never heard about DCM Forex, I know couple of brokers which are based in USA, let me mention one of them which is Wall Street Brokers, I deal with them personally with fixed spreads, I wont trade with a broker based outside of my country.

Good luck man.

Hello, pipsaregood

Welcome to this forum.

The broker you mentioned is giving you [I]their interpretation[/I] of current CFTC rules, and [I]their interpretation[/I] of how these rules apply to them. Some other brokers see things differently.

The main issue here is whether the CFTC has jurisdiction over offshore (foreign) brokers who have no business presence in the U.S. — that is, whether offshore brokers (who are [I]completely[/I] offshore) need to concern themselves with what the CFTC thinks or does. There are differing opinions on this question.

The broker you mentioned is not blowing smoke. They have simply made a business decision that, until the reach of the CFTC has been tested in court, they don’t want to risk being sued, fined, or sanctioned. Forget about them.