Moment of truth, can you actually make a living off FX?

Hi all from Aussieland,

I am relatively new to the FX scene and am loving it so far. In the last few months I have learnt so much and I am still left wondering…

Can you actually make consistent returns from trading FX enough to live off or to nicely supplement your current income? I am being warned off by some friends saying that it is there for hedging and you cant possibly get consistent returns from being a speculator.

If you could please comment I would be grateful.

Cheers,
GCTrader

i may not be the best person to answer this, since i’m still living with mom and dad, but you can earn a living from forex. i trade in a chat room full of people who make their living from day trading. technical analysis works.

i believe a few guys/gals in the forum trade for a living.

Hi,

I don’t think it’s any different from being self employed in any other field (as a matter of fact it has advantages over any other field).

Let me put it to you this way:

I had my own business for about fourteen years (computer hardware, software, and fleet management systems) and eventually it just got too much for me. I particularly started loving the part where you had to almost beg people to pay you for your time after the work had been succesfully completed! Then there was the travelling. Then there was the preparation of quote after quote and meeting after meeting which, a lot of the time, would not turn into a deal. Also - to be honest (probably due to the aforementioned reasons) - it just got to a point where I was losing interest in what I was doing. I remember well the first month that I was on my own - when everybody else I knew was getting their salary paid to them on a certain day and for the first time in my life my money was not guaranteed at the end of the month. Anyway - I perservered - and made a very good living in the next fourteen or so years.

What does this have to do with forex trading? Read on.