Why share your strategy?

Good Day Guys

I am quite new to forex, so forgive my ignorance. But here goes…

Is there a downside to sharing your trading strategy with everyone?

Strange question to ask, but I haven’t been able to find an answer anywhere.

Sabre

Here’s my 2 cents

I guess it could be summed up as your personal status:

You admit your new Status “New” - share all and everything you can think of - because you are learning.

Status “Break even trader” you still haven’t quite got into profit but what you’re doing seems to make sense - share if you want to and maybe learn some more.

Status “Making profit” - when you get to this point - I may assume you’ve put in tons of hours and study and money and a bunch of other stuff - -
now do you want to share – that’s up to you - - but I believe that even if you share a detailed strategy - that you understand - others without the same level of study - just won’t get it.

The only downside I’ve ever heard of- - and this could very well be a false interpretation.
If you’ve got a super winning strat - and all of a sudden EVERYONE starts using it - - it’s likely to start failing?

[QUOTE=]The only downside I’ve ever heard of- - and this could very well be a false interpretation.
If you’ve got a super winning strat - and all of a sudden EVERYONE starts using it - - it’s likely to start failing?[/QUOTE]

I have heard the same thing, but I don’t understand the fundamentals behind it…

Consider arbitrage. It is impossible for retail traders to make a profit arbitraging Forex anymore. There are way too many bots hunting for arbitrage opportunities, running out of banks with fast access and low transaction costs. They are competing with each other for literal cents on every trade.