To short trade or not to short trade, that is the question

So, I’m relatively new to Forex trading, and only recently I’ve been beginning to consider short trading, but I’m not certain if it would be a good idea or not. From my limited perspective predicting trends downwards seems to be significantly easier than predicting trends upwards. From that you would think that short trading would be more profitable, however, it doesn’t seem like too many people actually do it that often, so I’m uncertain. Can anyone who’s knowledgeable on this or has had a lot of experience short trading tell me if it’s actually worth it. Please leave a detailed response of why you think short trading is good/bad if you can. Thanks in advance

“From my limited perspective predicting trends downwards seems to be significantly easier than predicting trends upwards.”

Hi, could you elaborate on this, by giving us an example?

By simple definition, every trade you make is a short trade. You’re long one currency and short the other.

There is no particular bias toward longing/shorting in the forex market–one is not easier/harder to predict than the other. They are identical (no bias). It sounds to me like your inquiry has its roots in the stock market where shorting has a structural difference compared to longing. However, in forex there is no difference.

From BP school:

“Currency trading always involves buying one currency and selling another, there is no structural bias to the market. So you always have equal access to trade in a rising or falling market.”

One is not easier than the other and forex traders long just as much as they short.

Don’t worry if it’s long or short. Trade according to your plan.

Nothing wrong having a strategy that trades in only one direction. From my very limited understanding there are plenty of money managers out there that are only allowed to buy. Company policy and all.