Relative Strength Index help

So, I’m a relatively new forex trader, but I’ve been gaining experience and slowly familiarizing myself with the plethora of tools and strategies that are available to us traders. Recently I discovered the RSI, and I have been having a decent run gaining pips using close to solely the RSI to predict changes in trends, primarily on the 4 hour charts. I want to ask the experts out there, if this is a good strategy, what they think of the RSI and how to best apply the RSI. Detailed answers are greatly appreciated.

Thanks, guys

1 Like

Well I wouldn’t call myself an RSI expert but I used to use it in the past and had good experience with it.

For example:

When the RSI line closes below 30, it means that it is oversold in that particular timeframe. Then I zoomed down to a lower timeframe such as 1hr or 15min and would pick out the key resistance levels. When price broke above these levels with good momentum, it confirmed to me that the oversold condition on the higher timeframe was likely over and I could therefore buy and set a stop below the nearest key support on the lower timeframe. I would then take profit when I reached a 1:1.5/2 ratio, usually depending on the way the market was behaving.

I hope that makes sense. Of course, there are many ways to use it and this is just how I used it. At the end of the day, the RSI basically shows which way the momentum is going and whether or not it is overbought or oversold.

The reason why I moved down to lower time frame to wait for confirmation of a breakout in the opposite direction is because the RSI can stay below/above the oversold/overbought levels for a long time and buying/selling solely because it reaches these levels can be dangerous.

Hello, “GeneralOdama”!

I do not trade R.S.I. but I would ask that you consider the R.S.I. for divergence signals, rather than its

+70 or -30 (overbought / oversold) signals: