Market closed but open position still running

Hi.
I open a trade yesterday gbp/us , a BUY, but I fell asleep, nearly 5 am here, did not make in time to close my trade. Now the market is closed and have to wait till Monday. I did have my SL and TP.

Am I in a dangerous position??

I wouldn’t worry about it but I’m kind of new to this. And you have the same name as me btw!!! I’m also Filipe lol

Thanks man, but still a bit worried tho.

Where you from filipe?

It depends on your timeframe, risk & trading style.

If you’re trading a shorter TF, you’ll more than likely have a smaller stop, therefore movement over the w/end could cause price to go south - resulting in a loss for you.

If you risked 15% then yes, you are in a dangerous position. The fact that you are concerned makes me think that you may have exceeded your risk tolerance. If the trade does result in a loss, it should be a tolerable one.

As for trading style, I just had a quick look at the daily chart on my phone & I see resistance at approx. 1.5650 so personally, I’d be looking for a sell but everyone is different. Are you a day trader that’s forgot to close the position? Do you trade ranges? Trend or counter trend? Swing trading?

That depends on two things in my opinion;

1 - what am I risking

2 - is the market likely to gap against me

If I am risk only a small portion of my equity then if the market gaps against then it would not be as detrimental to my account unlike if I was trading a “standard” position size.

Only slightly: you’d be unlucky indeed to have a serious problem, unless you’re trading with too high a position-size. Maybe a good idea to be watching closely when the market re-opens tonight and ready to make a quick decision, if there’s one to make? Good luck!