Forex as investing

Rather than trade on a daily, weekly or even monthly basis, is it feasible to trade on a quarterly bases or in general for periods of up to 6 months? I’m guessing the rollover fees will just mount up and eat into your profits a bit but then so will paying spread if you trade on a weekly basis or whatever.

Any thoughts?

cfd rollovers will kill you. if you want to trade that way then go on a stock exchange and trade futures on currencies.

So what do you recommend as the maximum time to hold a trade? 3 months?

I have been doing this for eight months now and I can say that it is psychologically very different from active trading… I have filled Forextown with my thoughts and frustrations with regard to trading ‘big picture’ themes…

no, you can trade for severl months and even years holding to one position. im saying choose a better tool the CFD’s as CFD are structured product which are credited product (you get a credit/loan/morgage from your broker) and the interest rate (roll over) is very high. Choosing other structured products (id like to help you find someright nowbut i got no english source of structured products like options and futures) will save you a lot of “interest rates”.

if trading on a daily basis or few weeks then the “interest rates’” for these “CFD credits/loans” dont matter too much, but trading on a very long scale then CFD’s are not your product as simply:

a daytrader looks for minimal fluctuations to earn money, no interest rate of trades closed before night.
swing traders look for fluctuations of few days maximum few weeks. interest rates calculated over this time period sum up to 2-10% of unleveraged (margin used) value.