Maybe tie both hands behind my back?

I don’t take too many trades, but occasionally I build up a longer trade with multiple positions on the same pair and direction. So I put subsequent trades in and find that my stops are all the same! Naturally this is an error in MT4 and I must get it corrected through support. But what I find out, this is part of FIFO rules? And even then, FIFO rules don’t help me. If I want to partially exit a trade, it’s not going to be by trade age. Is someone stupid? Who is making these rules?

Same here. “Longer” is relative, because many people would consider my “longer” ones fairly short, in that they’re only a few hours anyway, but I often add to winning positions.

What - why?! How can you trade like that? One has to be able to enter individual stop-losses with individual trades, and to be able to adjust them during the trade, surely?

Well, you must get it corrected [I]somehow[/I], clearly - and before you put another trade on, surely?

I don’t know … but whatever the reasons and outcome, I urge you not to trade under the circumstances you describe! It’s [I][U]essential[/U][/I] to be able to add to winning positions if you want to, and for each individual trade to have its own adjustable stop-loss and for each to be closed individually if you want to do that. Anything else is unimaginable … :o

Not quite the right kind of forum for that sort of thing, I think … :58:

I was explained that this is part of the FIFO rules, and prevents anything other than FIFO. This is not an error, but the way Forex for US customers is. I didn’t know that until today.

There are ways round it, though. You can have different sub-accounts for the different trades, rather than opening them all within the same account? It would be [U]very[/U] dissatisfactory to have to trade in the way you’ve explained above: for a start, how would you scale out of a position?!