Do you know any famous swing trader?

So I’ve been learning swing trading for more than 3 years and still not getting it right. My account fluctuates around the same number up and down. So I guess I have 50% strike rate.

BTW, Is it just me or the markets not going anywhere these days?

Anyways, I was wondering if I could see or analyze what other swing traders are doing in the market. A google search for “famous forex swing traders” doesn’t retrieve any actionable results. Do you guys know any successful traders?

if its online, i dont think anyone would actually come and show/share their success story with us, i mean, the more you make the smaller the profile becomes, its simple human nature i guess, but im curious if you find any share it with us here thanks.

I happen to know quite a few (most of whom are institutional or ex-institutional-now-independent traders).

Not necessarily, at all: you could be winning 10% of your trades with an average win 9 times the size of your average loss; or you could be winning 90% of your trades with an average loss 9 times the size of your average win.

Your average strike rate on a break-even account would be 50% only if your average win is [I]the same size[/I] as your average loss, wouldn’t it?

This illustrates an important point (which is why I’m setting it out in the form of the examples above): win-rate [B][U]isn’t[/U][/B] what matters - [I][U]expectancy[/U][/I] is what matters. You need to make more collectively from your winning trades than you lose collectively from your losing trades, and have risk-management parameters that are in accordance with your [I][U]expectancy[/U][/I]. That’s all. Don’t try to measure your success in terms of win-rate, [I][U]especially[/U][/I] if you’re a swing trader.

You need to [U]know[/U] what your strike rate is - not to guess it from your results!

Well done, anyway, on not losing money: that’s a big hurdle already successfully negotiated. :cool:

Probably, by reading textbooks.