COT Report Analysis - a thread on market sentiment

Hi Peterma,

Though I’m new to COT I can see how useful this can be to increase probability of our trades. Nothing quite compares to COT report /non commercials/. Thanks for pointing out the differences commercial and non commercial. I almost got lost in vast amount of information. It was overwhelming. All I know is as a spot fx trader we should be focusing on non commercials as they are in it just to speculate as for commercials /in futures/ they might stay in even if their positions are in negative zone.

On GBPJPY dailies I zoomed out and between Jan 2014 - Feb 2014 there was a huge bearish move of about 1000 pips in a span of just about a month. Apparently COT JPY net position was at record high short -143,822 /4th Dec 2013/. Prior this downfall GBPJPY was in an uptrend / GBPJPY usually seems to be in an uptrend with JPY COT net position with - readings most of the time/. GBP COT net non commercials during this period had positive readings + . Now I don’t have long and short figures. Not sure what to make of this. What do you think ? :eek:

If you step back and look at a bigger picture it gives you more clarity. All these dots that we weren’t able to connect up front just seems to make sense from afar. That’s what trading COT is about. The more you realize what actually moves the market /large speculators/ all those fancy indicators all of a sudden feels like nothing more than a combination of false signal providers. I"m not bashing every other indicator out there but by now we all know most of them are nothing but a fallacy.

Yes rookie, the cot is useful only as a guide in FX imo.