COT Report Analysis - a thread on market sentiment

Hey guys.
I forgot something. Been wanting to put it out there. Interesting.
You remember the CHF bombing. And I sort of remember looking at HOW much each currency lost against them. I ranked them, to show the strong/weak. (I should dig that up)
But anyway, we know that lately everyone’s been appreciating against them. But week after week if you look at it, some are going up much stronger than the others. So therefore we can see who’s stronger down to the weakest. I have done this. And this way. By the fib. (I’m not an expert on that, but have plotted the 38/50/61/100 . This is what I got. From the open to the close, on the weekly chart, this is how much of a retracement each one has done since then.

[B]GBP[/B]More than 61.8%. Like around 70 something. The most retracement than anybody else.Strongest.
[B]USD[/B]Right at 61.8%.
[B]JPY [/B]More than 50% but less than 61.8%.
[B]NZD[/B]Right at about the 38.7%.
[B]EUR[/B]Only about 68 pips under the 38.7%.
[B]AUD & CAD[/B] Both at the same. Under the 38.7%, by about 100 pips or so.

So, what does that tell us? Well, of course it’s all about the strength against the CHF. But, since it’s been a pile on in the last few weeks, I think it is a judge of strength across the board. TO SOME EXTENT, not completely.
I see more Majors at the top.
Interesting how the 2 Comms at the bottom. Worse than the EUR. Is kind of close though.
Does this tell us that the big money prefers a Major against THE Major? More than a Comm against THE Major?
How is the NZD down on the scale so far? Been very strong lately.

What do you all think?

Mike

This was a very useful post. It would be even better if you make an edit and post your chart with all currencies vs. CHF from Jan. 15.