Open over the weekend

Hi Jason,

i am currently about 125 pips up on a trade and am thinking about leaving the trade open over the weekend, i have set my stop at about 100 pips. Can stops be activated as usual over the weekend? I am just a bit concerned as there was some big moves last weekend and i wouldn’t want to find out i was now making a loss because my stop hadn’t activated

Many Thanks

You should take everything that I say with due caution since I’m a newb, but the big moves last weekend were likely due the announcement late last friday that the UK was downgraded from AAA credit rating to AA rating. The market reacted strongly with a huge gap down in GBP first thing monday. This gap down in GBP was also evident as gaps on other currency pairs that react strongly to GBP. Big news like this is pretty rare so it’s unlikely to happen on such a scale any time soon so I wouldn’t be too concerned. However, while unlikely, it’s not impossible.

I think your stop will not be triggered until trading begins again. I think this means that your stop would be triggered at the new open price, which could be lower than where you placed it. It would be good to have confirmation of this from one of the gurus here on BabyPips.

Forex really has been lively recently. I think this is a good time for learning to trade. :slight_smile:

Hi Eddie,

PipWorm is correct. When a stop order triggers, it becomes a market order that will be filled at the best available price. That means if the market gaps through your stop price over the weekend, your order will be filled where the market is trading when the trading desk re-opens for the new week at 5:15pm New York time on Sunday. This could be a substantially worse price, and it is a risk you have to consider when holding open positions over the weekend.

Let’s take the following example.