What is 1%

I’m completely new to FX and started researching it over the past few weeks. I have got a very basic understanding except with regards to risk V Capitol. I have just opened an account FXCM $50.00 (big spender I know). I only want to risk around .5 - 1% each trade but how do I work this risk out so I don’t loose all the money on one trade?

Hi New one,

First, welcome to BabyPips and to FXCM :slight_smile:

It’s great you’re asking these risk management questions before you begin trading. Too many people don’t bother learning the important of risk management until after they’ve suffered a bigger loss than they were prepared to.

1% of $50 would be 50 cents. The minimum trade size is 1 micro lot on which you’re risking approximately 10 cents per pip. That means, if you wanted to limit your risk to 1%, you’d have to limit your risk to 5 pips. That’s not a lot of wiggle room, when you consider that the spread itself is typically 1 to 2 pips on a major currency pair.

Starting with the bare minimum in your account means you may have to risk more than 1% of your equity in order to have sufficient wiggle for your trades to have a chance of success. Otherwise, you might find that you’re frequently getting stopped out of trades for 50 cent losses. While it’s true this is only 1% of your account. If this happens very often with few to no winners in between, you might find that your account equity slowly goes down, in a “death by 1000 cuts”.

It’s important to only invest an amount that you’re comfortable with. If that amount is $50, then you may have to consider increasing the percentage of your equity you’re willing to risk per trade to 5%. That would be $2.50 allowing you to risk 25 pips per trade, which at least gives you some chance of success with some short term trading strategies.