Rollover for USD/HKD

Because of the political turmoil in Hong Kong, USD/HKD has been whipsawing quite a bit, causing my dynamic stop loss order to take me out of the trade. I decided to re-enter the trade. When I did, I noticed that my 0.01 positive daily roll had actually become -0.01. One of the original reasons I chose a long position on this pair was for the positive roll.

Since I’m a noob in currencies, I was wondering how frequently roll changes. And why does roll change? It doesn’t appear that the central bank in either country changed its interest rate, so I was surprised to see the change in roll. Is the political turmoil one reason why the roll changed?

BTW, I’m really enjoying my FXCM account and I like the new commission structure, although I wish ACH was faster. :35:

Hi RisingSun,

Consider using fixed trailing stops instead of dynamic trailing stops. While dynamic trailing stops adjust each time the price moves in favor of your trade, fixed trailing stops only adjust after the price has moved a fixed amount in favor of your trade such as 10, 50 or 100 pips.

While central banks set target interest rates for currencies, the actual rates are determined by market forces. Banks decide what rates they are willing to lend and borrow money, and this interbank trading determines the rollover rates you see on your platform. Here’s an example from earlier this year of how interbank trading affected rollover rates even though there was no change in central bank target rates: 301 Moved Permanently

Rollover rates can remain unchanged for several months, but during times of political or economic uncertainty banks and even central banks may affect these rates. The good news is that the FXCM Trading Station shows the latest rates every day, so you always know the rollover rate that you can earn or pay for holding a trade open through 5pm New York Time.

I’m glad you like our new pricing. In regards to ACH withdrawals, how many have you made?