Personal Info collected when opening an account

I am in the process of opening a live account with an FXCM Competitor. I am in the United States. Two of the questions on the application are “Name of Employer” and “Nature of Work” Does FXCM ask for this information when opening an account? I am a business consultant in my daytime life, and my employer loves it when we work on projects during “off hours” such as nights, weekends, and holidays… I am just concerned as I don’t want a broker contacting my office doing an employment verification… For the purposes of trading I am a self-employed individual.

Did you all have to provide the name of the employer on your application? Did anyone have a situation where their employer was contacted?

Thanks for any replies,

agcoast

Hi Agcoast,

The USA PATRIOT act requires us to collect information and take actions necessary to verify your identity. While I’m not authorized to comment on the specifics of this verification process, I can confirm that we do ask account applicants to provide the name of their employer and nature of business. For the details, please review the client agreement in our online application. If you have any questions about the client agreement, you can reach out to our Compliance department at <[email protected]>.

What made you decide to go with a competitor?

Jason,

Thanks for the reply. The short answer is that the competitor had tight spreads (not too sure on the spread thing), allowed micro lots and flexibility in trade sizes, and their demo is for an unlimited time and flexible. I worked through the BabyPips school during the summer and tried to use their guidelines for choosing a broker.