Hello from a newbie

Hi folks,

I’m Shona. I am just starting to learn about Forex am hoping it might be a long term way of me making a bit of money when I stop doing my current job.

I currently work as a consultant in banking. Credit risk to be precise. I think forex should suit me as I’m not a gambling type but happy to take carefully managed risks.

At the moment I am in the very early days, still getting familiar with the software (metatrader) and trying to work out where I should be setting my stop losses and take profits. Not doing any real trades yet just using a practice account.

Shona

Welcome to BabyPips.com, Shona! Hope you’ll enjoy your stay here. If you need help in learning more about forex, visit the School of Pipsology.

Good luck and happy trading! :slight_smile:

Hi Shona. Nice to meet you here. Welcome to the community. So you’ll be using MT4 too?

Yes I’ll be using MT4. Seems good and easy to use. I haven’t yet got the hang of the volumes though. Tried using a babypips calculator to work out my risk but I must have inputed something wrong as the answer was nonsense. The calculator made it look like I was risking far more than I actually am.

At moment I am therefore just guessing at my risk and using tiny volumes. Need to sort that out.

I am looking forward to starting to automate trades. I am a programmer for my main job. I also do modelling but not sure if that will be as useful as I first thought, as there are already so many indicators to use. It perhaps isn’t necessary to create fancy models (or even simple ones). Any opinions on that?

For now though I need to learn the basics. School of pipsology has been very useful.

good luck:-)

Hello Shona welcome to the forum its nice to be here lets share and gather our knowledge with one another.

Hi everyone,

Thanks for the welcomes.

I’ve had a few weeks now trading in my demo account. It’s really fun, though I’m not doing well yet. I guess that takes time.