Brand New at All of This

Hello, everyone! First, I am a complete novice at investing and trading – outside a 401k account, which is what got me interested in investing in the first place. I attended a “workshop” for self-directing our IRA. In the end, it was a cover for Online Trading Academy. Since I was completely ignorant about all of this, it was educational for me – not educational enough to get me to sign up for $40,000 in classes however. In the end, I could not get anyone there to let me see any trading logs of the instructors or sales people at the workshop. They make it sound so appealing . . .

My interest was piqued, and soon my research led me here. For whatever reason, I found the prospects of trading money interesting, and everywhere I turned the world wide web suggested that I begin my education here at babypips – so here I am.

I am 40, married, live in Georgia, and would love to learn how to make some extra money in the forex market. I own a tech start-up and work full-time, so I have a long-range plan regarding forex trading. My intention is to educate myself – with your help – paper trade as a hobby for the foreseeable future, then if I am successful at all, possible invest a small amount of money in the market.

I look forward to learning something new – I enjoy that. I am open to any suggestions – especially books, websites, or educational material. Also, what brokerage/platform do you suggest . . . one that will allow me to paper trade on then transition into the actual market.

Welcome to Babypips!