Baptism Of Fire

I am a newbie in FOREX trading. I have been practising with a demo account at ETX Capital since November 2013. I made quite a bit of money. I then started live trading on 9 January 2014.

I have decided to be a day trader. I only trade trending charts on the bounce, that is, I do only phase 1 of a cycle. I enter a trade on the second candle, after a small one in the buy or sell zone. I use ATR to calculate my stop loss at open price-(DATR(20)/2) and my target at 3 times price+(DATR(20)/2)

I went long on the GBPUSD for the following reasons:

1. Daily Chart and Weekly chart both trending up.
  2. The10 and the 20 Moving Averages both fanning out.
  3. There is Convergence between the MACD and the RSI
  4. Price Action is in the Buy Zone.
  5. The up-trend is confirmed by the second small green candle(Higher low)

I lost that trade. Yesterday, 16 January, I went long for the same reasons with the USDJPY pair, I also lost that trade. When I applied the same strategy with the demo, I won; but when I do it live, I lose. Anybody out there help! What is it that I am doing wrong?

No strategy is bulletproof my friend.

I am part of a small investment group amd we trade multiple strategies both manually and automated. The long and short we have seen for January so far is that this month kinda sucks. Our trades are staring to pick up now. We look to trade with smaller risk in the beginning and slowly increase during the back end of January. We learnt this the hard way. Good luck and stick with it you will bounce back.

It sounds like you are at least using a strategy. How many trades did you do in demo before deciding that you felt comfortable trading real money?

I did 14. I won 12!

Thank you so much for your comforting and wise words!