Experimenting with FX.. I think I'm hooked

Hi!

I’m not sure where to start, so I’ll just dive right in:

I’m a unix engineer by day, and a pretty avid linux hobbiest. I got mixed up in bitcoin a while back, and while I more or less broke even, it opened my eyes to currency trading. I started getting interested in alternate cryptocurrencies, and started trading them for fun. The site I used to trade had an API, so I wrote a simple arbitrage bot and had some minor success with it. Recently I thought I’d see if I could apply what I had learned to anything in the real world, and was drawn to FX.

At first I thought I would try to do something similar with the bot, but I quickly realized that this was an entirely different universe. But a universe I found to be really very interesting, and I’ve now jumped down the rabbit hole.

At first I started researching expert advisors, and found quickly that the google results were chock full of get rich quick infomercials. There’s so many people out there who want to take advantage of people like me who are just getting into it, that it’s really difficult to filter out the little nuggets of truth from the rest of the carnival noise. I’m good on the technical side of things, and thought that might give me an advantage. However, the more I read, the more I realized that my background won’t be as big of a bonus as I had hoped. And also that pursuing the perfect expert advisor is not the best way for me to approach this.

The thing is, there is a really big learning curve. And for someone who started the adventure with a google search of “how to trade forex”, the path forward is far from clear. Choosing a broker, choosing software, opening an account, the whole leverage thing, building some semblance of a logical trade strategy based on a thousand other decisions around stops, profit taking, dozens of indicators, and … yeah. Ouch.

But still… it draws me.