Yet another newbie here

Hello world!

Me:

I’m new to fx trading but IMHO very committed*. My background and situation is that I’m a programmer that was intent on setting up a business with a friend but our views diverged too much so despite lots of preparative work, stopping on the verge of launching seemed like the best solution.

After a few weeks of wondering what to do I - pretty much by coincidence - ended up deciding to try fx trading. This is not the first time I’ve thought of becoming a day trader instead of having a normal job because many years ago I took part in a trading competition but with limited time and no capital to try it for real, I didn’t try very hard and - unsurprisingly - didn’t do well either.

Now I have less to lose career-wise (it hasn’t been good) than at the time of the contest but more to lose in terms of money. Maybe nevertheless enough to get started because I had set aside money for the business and was ready to live with extreme uncertainty and minimal expenses and also losing what I had allocated for the venture. And from a very practical POV an advantage I have is that I due to my past work already have a reliable work station setup with two laptops and several monitors.

My intended approach to trading:

I know that trading psychology is extremely important and I have undertaken two “mental preparations” already. Please, tell me what you think of them!

• I Intend to approach trading like a computer game. I have enjoyed RTS games tremendously and when I have tried trading with demo accounts, I have noticed that I get some of the same feelings and consider that a very good thing. Making moves in order to win and not letting emotions get in the way. And also accepting losses - winning in RTS games, at least, has usually not been about winning a battle but knowing how to recover from a lost one.