Terrified

Hi All,

I have been learning, studying and demo trading for about a year. I am still terrified to make that first trade. I keep demo trading and when I am right, I smack myself for not taking the trade. Is the first trade always really hard to place?

I have traded stocks and options in the past and never felt this level of fear.

Janet

Often not trading is the hardest thing to do, so congratulations there.
If you’re struggling to take the plunge, may I suggest using a tried and trusted system to begin with?
There’s a thread in here called the 3 ducks system (not the one “with envelopes”). Its a great system, really easy to follow and with a very good success rate.
Take a look at it and demo it for a while, I use it for over 90% of my trades.
Good luck

My first live FX trade was a single micro. It was down about 20 cents and it felt like $20K. And like you, I had been trading for many years in stocks and etfs. I ultimately traded like mad. I traded over 1200 trades in that first year of fx trading. At the end of those I was ina 50% drawdown but everything I thought I knew about position sizing had changed and for the better. Now I have absolutely ZERO fear and I am taking long term trades with the trend and it all feels right even when my OTE moves 30% in a day (it did that on a news event day last month and I stayed in all my trades and they all have been just fine).

So the answer to your troubles: Trade Live, Trade Small.

And had I known that Oanda offers odd lots when I started, I would have traded even smaller. If you don’t know them, check them out. They allow you to trade as low as 1 currency unit. You can trade 100 units. You can trade 247 units. You can trade whatever size you like. So if you want to start with small position sizes, definitely give them a look.

May the forx be with you.

-Adrian