Just graduated from Baby pips! Hi from NYC!

What’s up World!

I wanted to wait until I finished the courses before I post here and I’m finally done!! It’s crazy, as much as I know now from when I first started a few months ago, I feel like I still don’t know jack about forex! Just the scope of the trading journal for example is waay beyond what I thought it was…
I use FXCM as a broker on my android phone and I plan to start with five thousand USD that i have from selling my car… I’m excited but I’m scared as hell too, I’ve read a lot of horror stories…
I found out about baby pips.com from forex traders posting on periscope… technology is a crazy thing!

BronxLT

Hi and welcome to BP.
Great to see someone with the sense to study at the school before diving in!
Have you decided what tyoe of trading to begin with?

Hey Eddie! Thanks for the welcome and love and sorry for the late response… Well I took the quiz and apparently I’m a day trader! I work a 11-8pm slave wage job so it’s hard for me to constantly watch the markets for hours at a time… But one of my goals is I want to be a flexible trader, able to zoom in and scalp or zoom out and trend trade over days etc, but I don’t think I have enough capital to do either comfortable

Welcome to the forum, BronxLT :slight_smile:

As FXCM’s representative here on the BabyPips, I’m available to answer questions you have about your account in the Broker Aid Station.

In my experience, new traders are too quick to dismiss a long-term approach, because they equate longer-term trading with bigger losses. While it’s generally true you have to risk more pips on a long-term trade, that doesn’t necessarily mean risking more dollars.

Consider that when you trade one micro lot (1000 units of base currency) you are risking only 10 cents per pip. That means you could risk 500 pips, and that would equate to $50. This would be 1% of your $5000 intended starting amount which is reasonable from a risk management standpoint.